Tuesday, February 19, 2013

The Water Witch (Fairwick Chronicles #2) by Juliet Dark

 photo water_zps4a185fe2.jpg
 The Water Witch (Fairwick Chronicles #2)
by Juliet Dark
352 pages
NetGalley 
Random House Publishing Group - Ballantine
Adult Fantasy Fiction
February 2013

Book Jacket Summary
Perfect for fans of Deborah Harkness and Elizabeth Kostova, The Water Watch is a breathtakingly sexy and atmospheric new novel of ancient folklore, passionate love, and thrilling magic.

After casting out a dark spirit, Callie McFay, a professor of gothic literature, has at last restored a semblance of calm to her rambling Victorian house. But in the nearby thicket of the honeysuckle forest, and in the currents of the rushing Undine stream, more trouble is stirring. . . .

The enchanted town of Fairwick’s dazzling mix of mythical creatures has come under siege from the Grove: a sinister group of witches determined to banish the fey back to their ancestral land. With factions turning on one another, all are cruelly forced to take sides. Callie’s grandmother, a prominent Grove member, demands her granddaughter’s compliance, but half-witch/half-fey Callie can hardly betray her friends and colleagues at the college. To stave off disaster, Callie enlists Duncan Laird, an alluring seductive academic who cultivates her vast magical potential, but to what end? Deeply conflicted, Callie struggles to save her beloved Fairwick, dangerously pushing her extraordinary powers to the limit—risking all, even the needs of her own passionate heart.

My Thoughts
Again, Juliet Dark has written an excellent book in the adult fantasy department. Her second book in the Fairwick Chronicles opens with Callie showing a group of teenage undines how to get to
Faerie so they can breed. However, the Grove and the Institute of Magical Professionals (IMP) are wanting to close the Faerie door that is the last passage to and from Faerie. This is the major plot point of the book and Callie is determined to keep her friends on this side of the door. But first she must learn how to use her powers. Enter Duncan, a wizard who is there to help her awaken her power. Callie is attracted to him but her thoughts linger on Liam, the incubus that she had to banish to the Borderlands. The book takes its twists and turns well. I liked being introduced to new characters and getting to know characters from the last book better.
There are moments when you just want to shake Callie because she is being an idiot and not seeing something the reader figured out pages before but she does grow as a character. She finally opens her heart and finds out why she might not be able to fall in love. I really like all the new books that are taking place in colleges and universities because I know that atmosphere well. 
This is one for those who enjoyed the first book or The Discovery of Witches series. I do have to remind those of you who may be looking for YA that this strictly adult or for older teens. There is an incubus in this book and thus a few sex scenes. Highly recommend for those who love fantasy.

Book Pairings
The Demon Lover by Juliet Dark
Trick of the Light by Rob Thurman   
The Historian by  



Photobucket

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...